Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA)

Serves the Public of Elkhart County, Indiana

Board of Zoning Appeals Members:

Elkhart County has an Advisory Board of Zoning Appeals consisting of five members as follows:
(1) Three citizen members appointed by the executive of the municipality or county, of whom one must be a member of the Plan Commission and two must not be members of the Plan Commission.
(2) One citizen member appointed by the fiscal body of the municipality or county, who must not be a member of the Plan Commission.
(3) One member appointed by the Plan Commission from the Plan Commission's membership, who must be a county agricultural agent or a citizen member of the Plan Commission other than the member appointed under subdivision (1).

  • Chairman - Randy Hesser
    (Term 1/1/14-12/31/21)
  • Vice Chairman - Roger Miller
    (Term 1/1/16-12/31/19)
  • Hearing Officer - Dennis Lyon
    (Term 1/1/16-12/31/20)
  • Hearing Officer Alternate - Ann Prough
    (Term 1/1/16-12/31/20)
  • Secretary - Tony Campanello
    (Term 1/1/17-12/31/20)
  • Board Member - Joseph Atha
    (Term 1/1/17-12/31/20)
  • Board of Zoning Appeals Attorney - James W. Kolbus
  • Plan Director - Chris Godlewski
  • Zoning Administrator & Planning Manager - H. Jason Auvil
  • Administrative Manager - Deb Britton
  • Board of Zoning Appeals Recording Secretary - Laura Gilbert
  • Hearing Officer Recording Secretary - Jane Yoder